Friday, January 27, 2023
HomeAsian NewsBJP wins Rajya Sabha ballot cliffhangers

BJP wins Rajya Sabha ballot cliffhangers

New Delhi: In a serious embarrassment to the Congress, the celebration’s Ajay Maken misplaced to media baron Kartikeya Sharma, an unbiased backed by the BJP, in Haryana, whereas in a serious setback to the Maharashtra’s ruling Maha Vikas Aghadi alliance of Shiv Sena, NCP and Congress, the BJP gained three of the six Rajya Sabha seats within the state.

Within the 90-member Haryana Meeting, 31 votes had been required to win. The energy was lowered 88 as an unbiased MLA abstained and one vote was declared invalid and the cut-off fell to 29.34. The BJP’s  Krishan Lal Panwar secured 31 votes. Maken polled 29 votes whereas Sharma polled 28. After the BJP’s requirement was deducted, the remaining 1.66 votes received transferred to Sharma as second choice votes. He scraped via with 29.66 votes whereas Maken remained at 29.


Insiders claimed celebration MLA Kiran Chaudhary’s vote was declared invalid, a cost she vehemently denied. Congress MLA Kuldeep Bishnoi didn’t vote for Maken, and was later suspended.

After the outcomes had been introduced, Bishnoi tweeted, “I’ve the aptitude to crush snake’s hood, as I don’t go away the jungle for worry of snakes.”

Late on Friday,  Sharma and the BJP demanded disqualification votes of two Congress MLAs, Kiran Chaudhary and B.B. Batra. They alleged that the Congress MLAs confirmed their choice of votes to a number of folks aside from the celebration agent. The matter went upto the Election Fee of India who solely allowed voting publish midnight and one vote was declared invalid.


Maken’s loss can have severe ramifications not solely in Haryana Congress but additionally in AICC as he’s seen to be near senior chief Rahul Gandhi. Common secretary Randeep Surjewala who’s from Haryana was given a secure seat in Rajasthan whereas Maken was made to battle it out.  

In Maharashtra, the counting received delayed because the BJP and its Opposition filed complaints and counter complaints after which the vote of Shiv Sena MLA Suhas Kande was declared invalid.

Two NCP members — Cupboard minister Nawab Malik and former residence minister Anil Deshmukh — who’re in judicial custody weren’t allowed to vote. Shiv Sena MLA Ramesh Lake had handed away final month.


On this backdrop, the Sena, which had fielded two candidates managed to solely get Sanjay Raut elected. Its second candidate, Sanjay Pawar, misplaced. On the finish of the second spherical of counting of votes, Dhananjay Mahadik pulled off a victory with 41 votes to Pawar’s 33.

The opposite BJP winners had been Union minister Piyush Goyal and former state minister Anil Bonde. The NCP’s Praful Patel and Congress’ Imran Pratapgarhi additionally gained the fiercely-fought elections.

After the beautiful setback, Congress leaders admitted shortcomings in coordination the within the ruling alliance. Maharashtra income minister Balasaheb Thorat instructed reporters in Vidhan Bhavan that it’s a matter of research as to what went fallacious.


BJP “was crafty in holding up the counting and getting one vote declared invalid. We had been assured that each one 4 of our candidates will win comfortably,” the Congress chief stated.


BJP’s Krishan Lal Panwar elected, transfers second choice votes to get media baron Kartikeya Sharma elected.

Congress’ Ajay Maken, Rahul Gandhi’s aide, misplaced by 0.66 votes. One MLA cross-voted, one vote disqualified.


Union minister Piyush Goyal and former state minister Anil Bonde of BJP, NCP’s Praful Patel, Congress’ Imran Pratapgarhi and Shiv Sena’s Sanjay Raut gained.

For the sixth seat, two Shiv Sena alliance voters had been unavailable and yet one more declared invalid after BJP protests. BJP’s Dhananjay Mahadik pulled off a victory over Sena’s Sanjay Pawar


I’ve the aptitude to crush snake’s hood, as I don’t go away the jungle for worry of snakes.

Kuldeep Bishnoi

Congress MLA who defied celebration, suspended

Devendra Fadnavis succeeded in working the miracle of weaning away unbiased MLAs from rival camps utilizing completely different means.

– Sharad Pawar, NCP chief

“Elections are contested not only for the battle, however the victory. Jai Maharashtra,”

– Devendra Fadnavis, Maha former CM



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments